DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Signal range/penetretion

blackbone9

Reactions
Hello everyone.

I would like to know when flying the mini 2 you have to always point with the antenna from the RC toward the drone? I read in the manual this info, but the videos from the YT are quite confusing. I saw many pilots facing away from the drone, which is hundreds of meters away. I should have always have a clear line of sight between RC and drone? Can I for example take of from behind some trees, and fly the drone a couple of hundreds of meteres away, dive into a valley, take the shot and come back? I am a beginner and I would like to know more infos about this topic.

Without using a parabolic or yagi, the signal is omnidirectional though your own body can attenuate the signal some.

So for best results try and face the AC, but you won't be completely cut off if it's behind you.

Reactions: vindibona1
Hello everyone.

I would like to know when flying the mini 2 you have to always point with the antenna from the RC toward the drone? I read in the manual this info, but the videos from the YT are quite confusing. I saw many pilots facing away from the drone, which is hundreds of meters away. I should have always have a clear line of sight between RC and drone? Can I for example take of from behind some trees, and fly the drone a couple of hundreds of meteres away, dive into a valley, take the shot and come back? I am a beginner and I would like to know more infos about this topic.

So as a beginner your asking about taking Calculated risks which you can only do once you understand the limits of your drone .

Flying from behind trees is going to lessen the number of satellites keeping you steady in air. Dipping down into a valley is also going to increase the chance of dropping Satellites and if you loose signal and the Panic that goes with that.