Welcome Mavic Pilot!
Jump in and join our free DJI Mavic community today!
Sign up

Stupid question but here goes......

Prmath

Well-Known Member
Joined
Sep 3, 2017
Messages
507
Reaction score
239
Age
72
Location
NW FLa
Can I use an IPhone with no cell service for my monitor on my new Mavic 2Pro? Dang, I hated to ask this but inquiring this mind wanted to know.....
T I A
 
  • Like
Reactions: beejAMG

Black Mama

Member
Joined
Aug 28, 2018
Messages
14
Reaction score
14
Age
64
You
Can I use an IPhone with no cell service for my monitor on my new Mavic 2Pro? Dang, I hated to ask this but inquiring this mind wanted to know.....
T I A
You don't need cell service nor WIFI to operate your aircraft.
 

Nosebump

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jul 17, 2018
Messages
170
Reaction score
101
Age
72
Location
Grayson, GA
I tried using an old iPhone 5 and it wouldn’t work. It would’ve been the ideal solution, but the app wouldn’t “take”. I may try again!
 

FlyGuy8675309

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jul 7, 2017
Messages
869
Reaction score
908
Age
50
I tried using an old iPhone 5 and it wouldn’t work. It would’ve been the ideal solution, but the app wouldn’t “take”. I may try again!
I'm 99% sure I had to ditch my 5 and get a 6 just to use with my Mavic. I seem to remember DJIGO4 needs the iPhone 6 and above...
 

fleurdelisxliv

Well-Known Member
Joined
Aug 22, 2018
Messages
166
Reaction score
108
Age
41
From what i have read the iphones and ipads that have cell service also have the gps chip. Not required to have service just needs the other chip. I cld be waaaay off base. Either way i bought a used 6s+ to fly my mavic 2 with. I will only use it for the drone. Glad u asked this bc i was still wondering myself
 

FlyGuy8675309

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jul 7, 2017
Messages
869
Reaction score
908
Age
50
From what i have read the iphones and ipads that have cell service also have the gps chip. Not required to have service just needs the other chip. f
No you don't need a GPS chip. If the mobile device has no GPS, Follow Me function as well as current RC's position Homepoint will not work, but you can still fly.
 
  • Like
Reactions: fleurdelisxliv

Nosebump

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jul 17, 2018
Messages
170
Reaction score
101
Age
72
Location
Grayson, GA
Nope. Got the error message “Cannot Download App DJI GO 4 isn’t compatible with this device”. So an iPhone 5 won’t work
 

FlyGuy8675309

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jul 7, 2017
Messages
869
Reaction score
908
Age
50
Nope. Got the error message “Cannot Download App DJI GO 4 isn’t compatible with this device”. So an iPhone 5 won’t work
Yep - that's what happened to me. New phone or tablet time!
 

Nosebump

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jul 17, 2018
Messages
170
Reaction score
101
Age
72
Location
Grayson, GA
There's a Youtube video that talks about this problem, and it's published by Drone Valley. My thought was that it really doesn't matter why. The hard fact is that it won't so I use an iPhone 7+ instead, and it works fine. It's not a dedicated device, which would've been nice, but it solves the problem. The iPhone 5 will be used by a grandchild instead.

Here's another problem that I've stumbled upon. During the boot sequence, I must turn my drone on first, then the RC. If I do it in reverse like the manual suggests, the RC and phone won't connect. Has anyone else experienced this problem? The phone is the last thing to be turned on.
 

Ken Nash

Well-Known Member
Joined
Mar 3, 2017
Messages
169
Reaction score
103
Age
67
Location
West Wycombe, High Wycombe, Buckinghamshire, UK
Lots of people are sometimes embarrassed to ask what they think is a dumb question, thats no so on this forum as I find that just about everybody are very helpful and are also just as likely to ask what appears to be an obvious.
 

Ken Nash

Well-Known Member
Joined
Mar 3, 2017
Messages
169
Reaction score
103
Age
67
Location
West Wycombe, High Wycombe, Buckinghamshire, UK
There's a Youtube video that talks about this problem, and it's published by Drone Valley. My thought was that it really doesn't matter why. The hard fact is that it won't so I use an iPhone 7+ instead, and it works fine. It's not a dedicated device, which would've been nice, but it solves the problem. The iPhone 5 will be used by a grandchild instead.

Here's another problem that I've stumbled upon. During the boot sequence, I must turn my drone on first, then the RC. If I do it in reverse like the manual suggests, the RC and phone won't connect. Has anyone else experienced this problem? The phone is the last thing to be turned on.
Yes. I do the same as you. Sometimes technology can be idiosyncratic.
 

Mark10v

Member
Joined
Aug 14, 2018
Messages
21
Reaction score
14
Age
31
My non gps ipad air will download the software just fine, it even runs. It just loses videofeed/connection all the time. But you should be able to run it without a gps.
 

dmzhu66

New Member
Joined
Apr 14, 2018
Messages
4
Reaction score
2
Age
54
Yes in fact airplane mode likely reduces any radio interference between remote n drone