DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Taking a drone from the UK to Cyprus

Mrktn

Reactions
Hi everyone, newbie here.

I have a sub 250g drone, the DJI Mini 3 Pro.

I’m going to Cyprus in a few weeks time, have registered on Cyprus CAA for an operator ID (first time in EU country with drone). ID sticker on drone. LIPO bag for batteries. Have owned this drone for about a month. Completed the A1 + A3 EASA certificate.

Has anyone flying from the UK to Cyprus had any issues going through airport security? Flying from London Stansted.

Many thanks

Has anyone flying from the UK to Cyprus had any issues going through airport security? Flying from London Stansted.
People fly every day, no-one ate check in will care.
All that's necessary is that your batteries must be in your carry on and not in checked luggage.
Lipo bags and charge levels don't matter at all.

Reactions: RoarRoar and Mrktn
Thanks, this is for anyone who has taken their drone to Cyprus, what are the authorities like towards drone users?

I’m going to Cyprus in a few weeks time, have registered on Cyprus CAA for an operator ID (first time in EU country with drone). ID sticker on drone. LIPO bag for batteries. Have owned this drone for about a month. Completed the A1 + A3 EASA certificate.

Many thanks
Hi, I live in Cyprus and travel often backwards and forwards to the UK. As long as you take the batteries in your hand luggage there's no problem. BTW, the flying here is amazing.

Reactions: Mrktn
Hi, I live in Cyprus and travel often backwards and forwards to the UK. As long as you take the batteries in your hand luggage there's no problem. BTW, the flying here is amazing.
Thanks Mike, sorry missed your reply - didn’t get a notification even though watching the thread. Staying in Ayia Napa / Protaras region for 11 nights.