Get more from your Mavic
The largest Mavic community in the world
Join Us Now

Terrible Exposure of Panorama

James G

Member
Joined
Jan 25, 2017
Messages
9
Reactions
3
Age
56
I have had my Mavic Pro since it first came out, and have never quite got a decent panorama out of it. Whenever I shoot a panorama, the exposure goes all haywire, and the resulting image is pretty much unusable. Is there something I'm doing wrong, are there conditions under which a pano should not be attempted (such as the sun is bright), or is there something I should be doing that I'm missing somewhere? Take a look at this example from today to see what I mean. (FYI I shoot in RAW, this is a JPEG that I stitched in PTGui, the sun was behind me.) jg-20210720-FC220-3-20-Edit Panorama.jpg
 

Dave Maine

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jan 27, 2018
Messages
1,078
Reactions
741
Age
78
There is something very wrong with the camera focus. The exposure seems reasonable. Try doing the panorama with the camera in manual focus mode, properly focused on your point of interest.
 

Dale D

Well-Known Member
Joined
Sep 13, 2018
Messages
3,656
Reactions
3,924
Location
Miami
Site
vimeo.com
I have had my Mavic Pro since it first came out, and have never quite got a decent panorama out of it. Whenever I shoot a panorama, the exposure goes all haywire, and the resulting image is pretty much unusable. Is there something I'm doing wrong, are there conditions under which a pano should not be attempted (such as the sun is bright), or is there something I should be doing that I'm missing somewhere? Take a look at this example from today to see what I mean. (FYI I shoot in RAW, this is a JPEG that I stitched in PTGui, the sun was behind me.) View attachment 132128
For panoramas, using the Mavic 2 Pro, do the following;
1.turn on the grid view.
2.Take a minimum of three (3) images, with a 30% overlap
3. up load the three to four images to Photoshop.
4.Open Adobe Camera RAW (ACR)
5. open these images in RAW
6. hit CTRL+A. (select all)
7. right click on any of the images
8. select merge to panorama
9. In dialog box, adjust the parameters to remove the non-covered spaces or use content aware fill
10. Open the resultant image in Photoshop, then, re-open it in ACR again (Filter>Camera RAW)
11. do final edits on this image.

Dale
Miami
 

James G

Member
Joined
Jan 25, 2017
Messages
9
Reactions
3
Age
56
Thank you; @DaleD, I'll try doing as you suggest, which of course is how I'd shoot a pano with a proper land-based camera. And @Dave Maine, I don't think there's a problem with the focus, since the individual images are all focused properly.
 

James G

Member
Joined
Jan 25, 2017
Messages
9
Reactions
3
Age
56
Here is an example of what happens when I merge the 21 images (from a 180-degree panorama). Why is the bit in the centre sort of muddled, when the individual image itself is not?
 

Attachments

  • Screenshot 2021-07-21 at 10.31.25 AM.png
    Screenshot 2021-07-21 at 10.31.25 AM.png
    3.1 MB · Views: 4

James G

Member
Joined
Jan 25, 2017
Messages
9
Reactions
3
Age
56
...even in PTGui, always that 3rd image looks muddy, even though the frame itself is fine (I'm attaching an
For panoramas, using the Mavic 2 Pro, do the following;
1.turn on the grid view.
2.Take a minimum of three (3) images, with a 30% overlap
3. up load the three to four images to Photoshop.
4.Open Adobe Camera RAW (ACR)
5. open these images in RAW
6. hit CTRL+A. (select all)
7. right click on any of the images
8. select merge to panorama
9. In dialog box, adjust the parameters to remove the non-covered spaces or use content aware fill
10. Open the resultant image in Photoshop, then, re-open it in ACR again (Filter>Camera RAW)
11. do final edits on this image.

Dale
Miami
I think perhaps my error is in using DJI's built-in panorama programming, rather than shooting the images "manually". That might fix the issue, so I'll give that a try next time the conditions are suitable.
 

Attachments

  • Screenshot 2021-07-21 at 10.40.22 AM.png
    Screenshot 2021-07-21 at 10.40.22 AM.png
    3.4 MB · Views: 0

Dale D

Well-Known Member
Joined
Sep 13, 2018
Messages
3,656
Reactions
3,924
Location
Miami
Site
vimeo.com
...even in PTGui, always that 3rd image looks muddy, even though the frame itself is fine (I'm attaching an

I think perhaps my error is in using DJI's built-in panorama programming, rather than shooting the images "manually". That might fix the issue, so I'll give that a try next time the conditions are suitable.
I don't know about anyone else but the 26 exposures for the globe are worthless to me if it not done internally by the drone synthesis. I am no longer using it on the Mini 2. I will, however still use it on the Mavic w2 Pro
 

Dale D

Well-Known Member
Joined
Sep 13, 2018
Messages
3,656
Reactions
3,924
Location
Miami
Site
vimeo.com
It's worth pointing out that I'm using the original Mavic Pro, not one of the updated versions.
That really should not matter if you do what I said above (e.g.: take 3 photos (left, middle, right) with 30% overlap, and merge them in Photoshop or Lightroom. and merge them in Photoshop or Lightroom.

Here is an example, does with that method

Dale
 

Attachments

  • Biltmore Hotel-Panorama.jpg
    2 MB · Views: 1

James G

Member
Joined
Jan 25, 2017
Messages
9
Reactions
3
Age
56
Thank you for all your help--I have found that by using manual exposure, rather than auto, it helps things a lot. This surprises me, since I'd have thought that the exposures would vary too much, but apparently not.
 

Attachments

  • jg-20210722-FC220-0001-5-Pano-Small.jpg
    jg-20210722-FC220-0001-5-Pano-Small.jpg
    1.1 MB · Views: 2
Lycus Tech Mavic Air 2 Case

DJI Drone Deals

1. Mavic Mini (renewed) - $309
2. Mini 2 - $449
3. Air 2 (renewed) - $699
4. Air 2s - $999
5. FPV Combo - $1299
6. Mavic 2 Zoom - $1349
7. Mavic 2 Pro - $1599

New Threads

Forum statistics

Threads
105,092
Messages
1,246,353
Members
136,514
Latest member
Gman47