DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

The Sun is giving me pain, 360 Panoramas

Metrocruiser

Reactions
Hello, I am hoping to get some help with taking drone panorama shots. (Mini 2, no raw) I am an indoor 360 photographer who is struggling to figure out what time and type of day will give me the best results so the panos don't get blown out on one side from the sun. The panos I will be taking are certain areas of a densely populated area that has a lot of high rise apartment buildings. So I have to get up higher to get the tops of the higher buildings. The sun is not friendly to me
?
I was experimenting with Dodge/Burn today and it seems that this is a good way to balance the difference. It looks a lot better after post, but I would rather take the photo with the optimal settings rather than post-process 150 panos.

Below is an example of one of my failures. The Zenith seems to be a lot easier when there are no clouds.
Thanks for any help you can offer me!

Attachments

• DJI_0001-Panorama-4000.jpg
    DJI_0001-Panorama-4000.jpg
    4.8 MB · Views: 79
As @Bodkin's Best Photography says, shoot raw and adjust.

With my mini I can't shoot raw but I keep in mind that the exposure is set for the panorama with the first exposure. So if you start shooting away from the sun that direction will be properly exposed as a normal exposed image but you'll have some overexposed and burned out highlights towards the sun. If I start your first exposure towards the sun you'll have better highlight detail but when you get to the other direction, less detail in the shadows.

Maybe starting at 90 degrees and shooting in raw along with some post adjustments might be your answer.

Let us know what you come up with. If you can, I'd like to see your pano reshot in raw with adjustments and details.

Reactions: Metrocruiser
Are you stitching the panoramas in the drone, or yourself?