DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

UK: Smart Controller. Any import tax & duty to pay if ordered from DJI store ?

JuJuMP2

Reactions
Hi UK Droners,

I have ordered the Smart Controller from the online DJI store. Free shipping it said.
I presumed DJI had stock in the EU somewhere.
Today I got tracking info from DHL and it has been shipped from Shenzhen China and due to be flown into BHX.

I got a nasty feeling I'm going to get screwed for import duty and tax on top of the £579 purchase cost.
This would make the Smart Controller very expensive indeed !

What has been your experience ?

Regards,

J.

I've no personal experience with DJI specifically, but as they state that they'll be covering all this in their Ts&Cs then you should be OK. Per this link under "Shipping & Delivery":

Do I need to pay customs and import charges for my order?

If the products are shipped from aboard, do I need to pay customs and import charges for my order? Customs fees, and VAT where applicable, are already included in the product price when purchasing products from our online store. However, you may be asked to pay a charge by local shipping agents. If you encounter this situation, we strongly advise you not to pay them, and contact our online sales support at DJI Support – Here for You – DJI. Dedicated staff will be available to help you.

You may need to jump through some hoops and wait a few days for the paperwork to sort itself out, but you should be OK.

Last edited:
Reactions: finki
No import duty to pay through DJI store, I’m in the UK and I buy all new DJI stuff through the store and it’s always freight and duty paid. Shipping to the UK takes 3 to 4 days.

I'm in Canada and ordered number of accessories from DJI on-line store this include Osmo Pocket. Never paid any taxes or duty, it was always covered by DJI. Shipping is free if order is more than $89.00 USD. In UK free shipping for orders over GBP £119.

Thanks Guys.