DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Understanding no fly zone better

MET

Reactions
I'm new to the drone community and just purchased my Mavic Pro 2 a week ago. I'm confused on the message I'm getting when I enter the 5 mile radius from a local airport. My understanding is that when I receive that warning that I would not be able to take off. What I am receiving just inside the 5 mile radius is a message on my iphone screen telling me to fly with caution in this area and to click "yes" that I understand. This message has a black background and blocks about 80% of my screen. When I hit "yes", nothing happens which means that I cannot clear the black box which blocks my view from the camera. I'm not trying to fly high in this area but just want to fly in my backyard field which is about 5 acres. Would appreciate someones help in understanding this. thx

Hi Met, I am in a similar zone, although here we are in large radius of a helicopter training site and we often get low flying helicopters around here. Its difficult to see, especially in sunshine, but there is a box you must tick before you confirm, then the screen goes away.

I'm new to the drone community and just purchased my Mavic Pro 2 a week ago. I'm confused on the message I'm getting when I enter the 5 mile radius from a local airport. My understanding is that when I receive that warning that I would not be able to take off. What I am receiving just inside the 5 mile radius is a message on my iphone screen telling me to fly with caution in this area and to click "yes" that I understand. This message has a black background and blocks about 80% of my screen. When I hit "yes", nothing happens which means that I cannot clear the black box which blocks my view from the camera. I'm not trying to fly high in this area but just want to fly in my backyard field which is about 5 acres. Would appreciate someones help in understanding this. thx