DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Using Mavic Pro as a handheld camcorder on tripod

getgoodgear

Reactions
Hi fellow pilots,

I am a newbie to Mavic pro, I was wondering if anyone has had success using the Mavic pro as a replacement for a standard video camera.

I currently use a Cannon 80D and Cannon XA10 but instead of using three camera's I though I could use the Mavic Pro as an all in one.

I would need to find a suitable Tripod adaptor and would be using the RODE mic to iPhone to capture Audio. I don't see any reason why it wouldn't work, I am curious if anyone has already been down this path.

I would be using it in a "talking head" direct to camera scenario.

Hi fellow pilots,

I am a newbie to Mavic pro, I was wondering if anyone has had success using the Mavic pro as a replacement for a standard video camera.

I currently use a Cannon 80D and Cannon XA10 but instead of using three camera's I though I could use the Mavic Pro as an all in one.

I would need to find a suitable Tripod adaptor and would be using the RODE mic to iPhone to capture Audio. I don't see any reason why it wouldn't work, I am curious if anyone has already been down this path.

I would be using it in a "talking head" direct to camera scenario.
I have seen grip adapters that allow the Mavic to be used as a "steady cam."
Buy PolarPro Katana Mavic Cinema Grip System

I use mine as a handheld all the time. I supplement my aerials with walk-throughs for real estate. I use a DIY handheld rig and it works perfectly.

Yes there is a good quality one around $69.00 for handle held, designed to replace a 3 axis gimble for your cam corder or DSL. The Mavic works very well in this format and I have done a few test runs just holding it.

I am looking more for people who have used it as a static free standing camera. There is a tripod adaptor available from China that has been 3D printed.