Welcome Mavic Pilot!
Jump in and join our free DJI Mavic community today!
Sign up

Very little range.

ash2020

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jul 26, 2018
Messages
71
Reaction score
16
Age
68
Hi all.
I've been flying my MA for a couple of weeks now. I find that I get a low signal warning at 600-700 feet away and 200 feet altitude. Is that usual? Perfect line of sight BTW, in an open area.
 

janbso

Member
Joined
Jun 5, 2018
Messages
21
Reaction score
4
Age
66
Look for "Beginner Mode" setting. Is it on?
 

InvisibleName

Well-Known Member
Joined
Feb 5, 2018
Messages
1,087
Reaction score
566
Age
62
Location
Peterborough, UK
That’s too far for Beginner’s mode. What country are you in? Outside USA usually means you’re flying inCE mode. Research the FCC ‘hack’, you won’t regret it!
 

charlas

Well-Known Member
Joined
May 28, 2018
Messages
451
Reaction score
160
Age
45
Yeah do the fcc mode switch, happily get near the 2 mile mark without disconnect in low interference areas with no special tweaks, and even in built up areas get over a mile without issue.
 

aokusman

Well-Known Member
Joined
May 1, 2018
Messages
271
Reaction score
114
Age
44
Mind can’t go beyond 3000ft. Anyhow im getting the mavic 2 zoom
 

ash2020

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jul 26, 2018
Messages
71
Reaction score
16
Age
68
Is it possible to do the FCC hack with an iPhone? I haven't got an android device.
 

Andy.

Member
Joined
Jun 30, 2018
Messages
24
Reaction score
29
Age
39
Location
Netherlands
Is it possible to do the FCC hack with an iPhone? I haven't got an android device.
No. You’re best off borrowing a friends device for 10 minutes to sort it. I used my sons cheapo tablet to do the trick.
 

charlas

Well-Known Member
Joined
May 28, 2018
Messages
451
Reaction score
160
Age
45
Is it possible to do the FCC hack with an iPhone? I haven't got an android device.
Either borrow one, takes 5 kins, or pop to phone shop
 

ManuCH

Well-Known Member
Joined
Dec 3, 2017
Messages
55
Reaction score
27
Location
Bern, Switzerland
Is it possible to do the FCC hack with an iPhone? I haven't got an android device.
Actually it's possible but somewhat convoluted, and you need to connect the iPhone to a Mac and download Xcode. There are videos out there explaining how to do it.
 

InvisibleName

Well-Known Member
Joined
Feb 5, 2018
Messages
1,087
Reaction score
566
Age
62
Location
Peterborough, UK
Thanks all. I think I'm going to get a budget Android tablet to fly it as well.
I wouldn’t be so hasty! Many of the Android users on here are having all sorts of problems! I’d do a lot of research before you buy a “budget” Android tablet!
 
  • Like
Reactions: DesJardins

charlas

Well-Known Member
Joined
May 28, 2018
Messages
451
Reaction score
160
Age
45
I've got the Lenovo Tab4 8 pro (or whatever it's called), works great. but would stear clear of something too under powered.
 

charlas

Well-Known Member
Joined
May 28, 2018
Messages
451
Reaction score
160
Age
45
I've got the Lenovo Tab4 8 pro (or whatever it's called), works great. but would stear clear of something too under powered.
Saying that I use my S9+ 90% of the time :)
 

New Threads

Forum statistics

Threads
71,765
Messages
831,783
Members
98,817
Latest member
cong