DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Video is jerky no matter how slow I move, turn or maneuver.... this is something new because it did not happen in the past....

ColoradoSwede

Reactions
I have slowed down everything I can think of to create a smooth video but it still is jerky with any change of direction, elevation or command. Does anyone know why this is happening? I even reset the gimbal to factory settings.

It is not the gimbal....it is in the way it records that is jerky...I removed all the past videos and reformatted the SD csrd.... it is still a jerky recording.

I’m no expert videographer, but I know that the relationship between shutter speed and frame rate is all important for smooth video. Ideally shutter speed as a fraction of a second should equal the reciprocal of 2x frame rate. For example if your frame rate is set to 50 fps, then you need a shutter speed of around 1/100 sec. Of course it may not be possible the achieve this and still maintain correct exposure in all light situations, but this is where ND filters help.

Reactions: Gindra and Thomas B
Hmmm...OK. I'll have to look at my camera settings. But I'm not sure that it really explains why the video jumps.... it seems to jump about every second for the duration of the video....I'm taken several and they all do that/.

I have slowed down everything I can think of to create a smooth video but it still is jerky with any change of direction, elevation or command. Does anyone know why this is happening? I even reset the gimbal to factory settings.

You need to provide in detail camera/drone settings. "I have slowed down everything" doesn't say anything.
Ideally you provide a video clip with your settings.

You need to provide in detail camera/drone settings. "I have slowed down everything" doesn't say anything.
Ideally you provide a video clip with your settings.

This.