DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Want to grade this footage?

phaeton

Reactions
I'm curious what others can get out the footage I've shot. I'm still a novice when it comes to post production, but I still have this nagging feeling that the Mavic footage is still not up to the quality that I see in others. However, rather than blame the tool I'll hold the operator (me) at fault for the moment.

I've put some footage from a local spillway I shot last week in the following folder:

I shot in 2K with a ND-16PL filter to try and bring my exposure down. Take into account that it was a pretty overcast day to begin with and I shot mid-afternoon. The settings I was shooting with are:

Colour D-Cinelike Sharpness 0 Contrast -1 Saturation -1​

I appreciate whatever help I can get with this. Thanks.

What were the actual camera settings? (ISO, FPS, Shutter)

What were the actual camera settings? (ISO, FPS, Shutter)

If I remember correctly, it was ISO 100, 24 FPS and for shutter I was probably around 1/100 (I was trying to hit the 1/50 mark, but the filter probably should have been a ND-32 to get down to that shutter speed.

Just for my own kick at the can, I put together clips from the same day in DaVinci resolve. I did one run through, where I did a colour boost and there's this noticeable colour pixelation in the bottom middle of the video.

I took another crack at it, avoided the colour boost and just brought up the saturation a little bit. I'm a bit happier with this, but again I'd like some opinions if there's more to be squeezed out of the footage or if I'm having some issues with the hardware.

Last edited:
You are getting there!

Many will say all comes from post however you have to have great footage to produce even better videos in post.