DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Weak GPS notification

Amdrone

Reactions
I Am having a problem with a weak GPS signal almost every flight. I'm flying in fairly populated areas. I've got my part 107 and working on real estate projects. For the most part I just deal with it, I've been an RC pilot for years. It's a pain going in and out of ATTI mode though! Today I wanted to experiment with orbit and it would not allow. It gave the message "weak gps signal" although at this point the drone was flying on between 8-11 sats. I'm open for all help. I love the Mavic Air and want to start learning all the options available.

I seldom fly further than 5-600' distance and 250-300' altitude, always LOS. A customer has requested a 350' altitude orbit. It's frustrating not being able to experiment with the modes. If it is Magnetic interference is there a solution?

If the controller doesn't indicate magnetic interference, then that is an unlikely cause and wouldn't affect the strength of the GPS signal in any case. I agree, calibrating IMU, Compass, and obstacle avoidance sensors occasionally is good practice.

For this problem, you might try using a GPS app on you cell phone to check sat coverage to compare with the signal shown on your remote.

not sure , using waypoint mode may solve the problem , the drone wont depend on your controller for instructions. its a possibility, on my mavic 2 pro there is an option to continue mission on loss of signal. if you set the last point near you . you should be ok

Could be your drone. You shouldn’t have that problem at that altitude