DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

What PC do I need?

Hazco74

Reactions
Recently taken my M2P out for the first time as I’m new to the UAV world. When I got home to run the footage my laptop would not run smoothly the 4K footage but ran the 1080p footage fine.

So my question is, because I want to use the drone to its full capacity and work with is footage, is there there any level/type of PC/laptop I should be looking at without breaking the bank.

Currently I’m on a windows based i5 laptop which doesn’t support 4K which I assume I the reason I have choopy footage on the 4K. Am I right in thinking apple based products are better for 4K footage and editing than windows? Just something I have read.

Appreciate any guidance/suggestions you could throw my way.

Hazco

Before buying a new computer, you could try a different video player (like VLC).

I agree with msinger try VLC player

It makes no difference if you use PC or iMac you can install windows on a Mac, its not the operating system but the components inside that count.
You say you are using windows so if that is what you are used to stick with that, the Apple OS is completely different, personally I hate it.
You have an i5 processor but what RAM & GPU do you have ?

VLC player may help play the clips, but if you want to get into editing them together to produce a video, you're beyond just playback needs and start getting further into upgrading hardware requirements.

But another thing you can try first if you do get into editing: using a proxy. That is, before editing with the 4K footage that you can barely play back, transcode it down to a format that does play well and use that in the editor. Then when it comes time to produce a resulting video from your edited together parts (and possibly adding audio, such as music), then you can instruct the editor to render the final video using the full-sized 4K source.