DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

What will it do when Mavic mini lost signal without activating RTH?

Weiwei

Reactions
Hi Mavic Mini Pilots, a newbie here looking for some help

I had a flyaway Saturday and lost my connection to the drone,

It's a windy day so for the beginning I was trying to keep it low and right above me, then I saw the drone was OK in the air so I raised it up, it was OK until around 2 minutes, suddenly it lost control, all the pitch back or roll to side operations were not working, I believe that's the time it was caught by the wind. There was a lake below so I was afraid of falling into the lake so I was trying to move to the side, and waited until it had passed the lake then lower the drone, unforturnately I didn't have enough time to low it all the way down before I had lost the link.

from the "Find My Drone" function I found a coordination so I went to the location hoping I could find my drone, with no luck.
After coming back home, I pulled out the flight record from my phone and checked it on Airdata.com, realized at that location, the drone was 20 meters high in the air.

Based on the manual, I have heard the mini would activate the RTH function, but before I lost the connection, I had tried to activated the RTH, all I got was the strong wind warning and it could not be done.

From the flight record I realized when I totally lost my signal, at the same time the flight log said the battery was at the maximum distance, is it the possible reason why I lost my signal?

Does anyone have the experience of this type of situation? Was there any chance the drone lost signal, and it couldn't RTH so it had landed somewhere? I would like to guess where it could be and try to find it.

Any input would be appreciated!

Here is the flight log

Last edited: