DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Which Ipad

sawyerbrownlive

Reactions
I passed my Part 107 exam last week thanks to my job offering me time to study and paying for the exam! Now they want me to put together a list of links to purchase what i feel comfortable with. As a hobbyist i fly a Mavic Pro with an Ipad mini (don't recall which one). I would like to continue using apple products as that's what i'm comfortable with. I have discussed the Mavic 2 Pro with my bosses and they are good with it. So, can you recommend an ipad that is best suited for the M2P? I also use the DJI Go 4 app, but will consider something else since this will be for commercial purposes and not for fun. Thanks!

I use the iPad Air 2, which is just right and works with available drone accessories (remote mount, shade hood).

I see that the newest one is 10.5" screen while mine (older generation) is 9.7". So I would check to see if the outside dimensions have changed, to be sure they still fit the accessories.

Chris

Reactions: sawyerbrownlive
a) iPad Mini 5
b) iPad Pro 11"

(both with WiFi and Cellular capabilities)

Is the WiFi and Cell capability important?
You said in your OP your intended use is commercial.
As you don't specify what kind of work you are doing, I always recommend an iPad with Cell capability.

You said in your OP your intended use is commercial.
As you don't specify what kind of work you are doing, I always recommend an iPad with Cell capability.

I just don't know enough about the differences between the 2. We do accident investigations. Could be out in the middle of nowhere or we could be in the middle of an intersection, or we could be over the top of a destroyed warehouse/building.

I just don't know enough about the differences between the 2
An iPad with Cell has a GPS receiver builtin. (a WiFi only model does not)