DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

With revised drone laws coming into force 1st Jan 2023 is it worth buying a drone over 250g now?

RotatingBirds

Reactions
I was pondering buying a DJI Air 2S (weighs 595g) but with the forthcoming new laws and certifications would it be best for me to get a <250g drone for now, then see how things pan out as of 1st Jan 2023? Also wait and see what certified drones are released this year pending the new rules?

If my research is correct (the rules aren't THAT clear to me .....) and If I did go for the Air 2S I'd need to take the £150 online test to obtain an A2 CofC Drone Licence. However, I may need a different licence if I wanted to continue to fly the Air 2S next year? Or it would be that as the drone will likely be unclassified in 2023 I would need an A3 licence?

I'm new to drones, hence the confusion. I've done a lot of reading but all that's done is confused me even more.

Reactions: Lastrexking
As you're from the UK I don't have any answers for you. However, I would love it if knowledgeable folk from over there would kindly elaborate how your rules, present and upcoming differ from the US rules. Also, how do UK rules differ from general EU rules. Can we get a Canadian or two in on this info? I'm really curious, but at this time I have no detail on any of your general rules. All I know is that Canadians have to jump through many more hoops that those here in the US.