DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Would Disabling House Wifi Give Better Range?

Pilotjake

Reactions
Hi all,

I was just wondering if disabling the wifi in my house might give my drone better range. I’m a bit of a newb when it comes to this stuff I know that the drone range has allot to do with where the drone is flying and if signals are blocking it there. But I was thinking I could make a small improvement but removing wifi around me. I have mesh wifi setup and loads of cameras and smart home devices around where I take off.

thoughts?

Hi all,

I was just wondering if disabling the wifi in my house might give my drone better range. I’m a bit of a newb when it comes to this stuff I know that the drone range has allot to do with where the drone is flying and if signals are blocking it there. But I was thinking I could make a small improvement but removing wifi around me. I have mesh wifi setup and loads of cameras and smart home devices around where I take off.

thoughts?
Sorry should specify flying a mavic 2 pro on dual band

It should not have any effect on the drones range or performance. Communications is between the drone and transmitter. They operate on different frequencies. However, range is effected by obstructions and other terrestrial interference and of course weather. The way to understand this is imagine a gun and target your pointing at, if it is daylight and you can see your target yoiu can shoot it, however if a big wall is between you and the target you loose visual. If you see the target and a wind is blowing you have to adjust for it. Radio signals behave in similar ways. I could go on but you get the gist.

Hi all,

thoughts?
i find if i get away from the houses i get far better range go try an open field and then fly out 3 miles ya works alot better with no other wifi around