android...

Discussion in 'General Discussions' started by antonio, Oct 17, 2016.

  1. antonio

    antonio New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2016
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    is it possible fly a mavic with a Samsung note???

    i saw a youtube video that says only iphone 5 to up could be used as remot controller
     
  2. CivEngPE

    CivEngPE Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2016
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    12
    Yes
     
  3. msinger

    msinger Well-Known Member
    Approved Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2016
    Messages:
    2,373
    Likes Received:
    970
    Location:
    US
    Yes, the Samsung Galaxy Notes will fit into the Mavic remote controller. You'll most likely have to use it without a case though. The remote controller can only hold devices that have a thickness between 0.25-0.33 inches.
     
  4. DesertWindAero

    DesertWindAero Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2016
    Messages:
    111
    Likes Received:
    33
    Just don't use a Note 7 ;-)
     
  5. antonio

    antonio New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2016
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    thanx a lot to let me be sure of it.

    but actually i have 1 more question: there is any difference between a prototype Mavic pro shipped from England earlier (a friend of mine should receive it tomorrow or the day after) and the other shipped from the main factory at first week of november??
     
  6. Deckyon

    Deckyon Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2016
    Messages:
    466
    Likes Received:
    186
    No clue. No one has a production model as of yet. At least, none that are sharing any info.
     
  7. PropPilot

    PropPilot Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2016
    Messages:
    275
    Likes Received:
    95
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    I picked up an Acer Iconia One 7 today for $ 65 bucks Canadian just to try it out. Works like a charm (only done initial testing/flying at this point) and fits in the clamps with no magic or adapters. The USB cable coming out the side is a bit awkward for grip so I am going to pick one up that has a 90 head on it and then it will be perfect. I wanted a dedicated controller screen for the MAVVIE to prevent me from having to pull my iPhone 6 in and out of the case and gonging away as emails and texts came in and the screen on this baby is WAY bigger than the iPhone 6.

    So far it is 100% and for $ 65 bucks I could not resist trying. So far..... perfect.
     
  8. gunpilot399

    gunpilot399 Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2016
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    12
    But I guess you cannot use Follow Me or reset home point on the fly as no GPS?
     
  9. msinger

    msinger Well-Known Member
    Approved Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2016
    Messages:
    2,373
    Likes Received:
    970
    Location:
    US
    That's correct since it's a Wi-Fi only device. You could still reset the home point to the Mavic's current position on the fly though.
     
  10. PropPilot

    PropPilot Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2016
    Messages:
    275
    Likes Received:
    95
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    The Acer Iconia One 7 does have an integrated GPS module
     
  11. msinger

    msinger Well-Known Member
    Approved Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2016
    Messages:
    2,373
    Likes Received:
    970
    Location:
    US
    Do you have the HD model? It looks like there are a few models.
     
  12. PropPilot

    PropPilot Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2016
    Messages:
    275
    Likes Received:
    95
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Model is B1-770-K9BC

    Acer Iconia One 7

    Latest Android OS

    So far (knock on wood) I see zero issues
     
  13. Desertdude

    Desertdude Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2016
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    2
    Will a Samsung Galaxy Tab S work and I would use my iPhone as a hot spot for cellular service.
     
  14. msinger

    msinger Well-Known Member
    Approved Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2016
    Messages:
    2,373
    Likes Received:
    970
    Location:
    US
    It's not supported by DJI, but some people are using that device with DJI GO.
     
  15. Desertdude

    Desertdude Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2016
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    2
    Are you using your iPhone as a hot spot to the tablet?
     
  16. PropPilot

    PropPilot Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2016
    Messages:
    275
    Likes Received:
    95
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    No. not sure why I would need a cell connection ?


    Flying a Mavic Pro with an Acer Iconia One 7" tablet running latest Android OS
     
  17. PropPilot

    PropPilot Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2016
    Messages:
    275
    Likes Received:
    95
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Oh sure, I will use my iPhone hotspot for updates


    Flying a Mavic Pro with an Acer Iconia One 7" tablet running latest Android OS
     
Loading...
Similar Threads - android Forum Date
Android Users Mavic Pro Discussions Sunday at 12:24 AM
Using Google Maps on DJI Go 4 (Android Non-rooted) Mavic Pro Discussions Saturday at 10:31 PM
Go back to using Google Maps on DJI Go/DJI Go 4 for Rooted Android Phones Mavic Pro Discussions Thursday at 8:53 PM
DJI GO 4 - iOS vs Android (latest versions, 4.0.2 vs 4.0.1 respectively) Mavic Pro Discussions Thursday at 9:41 AM
Android app drains battery way too much General Discussions Jan 13, 2017

Share This Page