DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

a strange failure and my windy flight experience

Thanosix

Reactions
hi there people , im a noob at the drones , only 5 hours of flying according to my app , i own the MavicMini and for me its a very easy , super steady , great quality image and a great consumer product .

but I turned to FPV mode and i noticed this annoying "bumping" when turning , like there's something wrong with the gimbal , i checked the gimbal and i see .. the picture at the end..

i must admit I had 2 small crashes , once i scratched a wall with the props and crashed , and the other time i got stuck in some bushes , wasn't something hard , drone had not a scratch , on both of them i wasn't going fast , i was moving backwards and hit the back of the drone and there is no way for that gimbal rubber to turn it self and placed the wrong way because of the crashes. this is an assembly fail 100%
I do have the Care Refresh so i didn't worried at all and was easy to fix it gently with some tools at home , i did it carefully and it worked fine . i took off the rubber and placed it the other way . my guess is someone was in a hurry .
im still very happy with mini , but that was a big fail .

my experience with wind
i was flying in a Greek island so expect strong gust and wind speeds.
i was full throttle and the drone was "fighting" to go forward , but i had no warning for strong winds.
Wind affects it pretty much cause its super light , i knew that , and actually i am very impressed but i think it should warn you earlier for strong winds . it overestimates its abilities here , i think here we maybe find some answers for the fly aways and altitude drop issues , i didn't took the risk to send it far so i have no experience .
i noticed that the camera view its super steady and the pilot can't tell if the drone is moving , but if you look at the drone you will see its struggling in the wind .