DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Advices you would give yourself from today's perspective

jakub

Reactions
So as I start my adventure with Mavic Pro (it's not my first drone just to make things clear) I found this forum and I realized how many experienced pilots are here. So, my question: basing on your experience - what advice would you give to younger version of yourself? What are some tricks/important things you wish you have known before? Share them with us!

Reactions: firecop9774
Welcome to the forum. I'm still learning but the #1 thing I'd recommend is learning to fly without DJI GO 4. Put up the drone fly it away and figure out where it is. (In a wide open spot, of course) And then bring it back. #2 Put yourself in a panic inducing situation. What I do is put my MP up about 250' and then try to bring it back to my exact take-off point (a 30" plastic disk) with full down stick and wait until landing protection kicks in. I always find I freak out and let go of the sticks about 8 feet off the ground but I'm still working on it. #3 Learn to fly slow and smooth (which is harder than I thought it would be). All your best video is going to come from really smooth, slow movements even cinematic and tripod mode need skilled input to make them work like they're advertised to.

Enjoy your drone!

Reactions: fiftiesnut
..... I'm still learning but the #1 thing I'd recommend is learning to fly without DJI GO 4.
Enjoy your drone!

^^^THIS

I've only flown my MP about 8 times now. I always use the RC for the controls. (It comes from my years of R/C flying). :)

You never know, if/when the app may crash.

Reactions: dannyw777 and jakub
the #1 thing I'd recommend is learning to fly without DJI GO 4. Put up the drone fly it away and figure out where it is. (In a wide open spot, of course) And then bring it back.