DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Aircraft Disconnected error

5000msl

Reactions
Out stretching my flight "legs" this morning with the M2P. As I'm a new pilot I thought I'd try the QuickShots first in a wide open area. No problems.

I was free flying later just to get practice. Wasn't really aware of it but apparently reached the Max Distance setting (whatever the default was; 480m?) - got a prompt, but it's hard for these old eyes to read the small text (I've got a tablet holder now on order.) It was far away, but within LOS. Didn't notice any breakup of return video. I probably kept my thumb on the stick, but when the screen went dark with a red status bar stating Aircraft Disconnected that got my attention.

A pop-up offered some information, but all I could focus on with my heart racing was a prompt for Return to Home which I accepted. The 2P flew back to me, though the screen stayed black, and never reconnected even when it got close - is that normal? I landed OK. Turned the 2P off then back on and it reconnected. I took a couple short flights after this with no issues.

Suggestions? Recommendations? Comments? TIA

Reactions: Elton Hammonds
Retrieve the logs (mobile device txt and DAT) if you want to see what happened.

Thanks, that's a good idea, however I'm not sure I know how to get anything meaningful...

I looked at Flight Records in the Go4 app, but about all I can tell from that is that I was 795' from home point at 49' height, traveling at 29mph, and an estimated 7min left on the battery when the track abruptly ends. No record of flight from that point back to home point.