DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Amateur "intent" during shooting leading to future professional portfolio use?

vindibona1

Reactions
Democratic Peoples Republic of Crook County
I am a professional photographer (semi-retired) and my creativity has been reinvigorated with my drone. With my contacts I know that at some point in the future I could attract business. I know that without my Part 107 license I absolutely will not do work for any remuneration. And I know based on another thread that one's "intent" during a period of amateur status comes into play when possibly judging whether or not you are shooting for commercial purposes.

In my case I've just finished one personal project which has led to approval for another. Again, no remuneration at all. But at some point, after getting my Part 107 I'd like to use them on my website as samples (I've downgraded my business from corporate to sole proprietor status). Would using these personal projects as samples in the future be considered commercial works if I intend to use them (strictly) as such?

Now then you shot a personal project for fun, fun being the important thing.
You had no intention of using it for anything other than personal pleasure when you took it, remember that and stick to it..
So my take on the rules is you are OK if it gets used at a later date on a website.

Others may disagree but it’s the intent when taken that counts unless I have things wrong.

I know that without my Part 107 license I absolutely will not do work for any remuneration.
Renumeration has no bearing on the question of part 107 applicability.

And I know based on another thread that one's "intent" during a period of amateur status comes into play
Absolutely correct. The intent is very important.

But at some point, after getting my Part 107 I'd like to use them on my website as samples