DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Another Nublet Agonizing Their Purchase Discovers MavicPilots

Hegemone

Reactions
Hiya folks. Just digging and digging through the posts as I consider the mavic pro vs the mavic air. I thought I would say hello since I am a big fan of forums communities. I built a teardrop camper with my shop students and the TNTT and TearJerkers forums were hug resource and the amount of experience to be found in good communities is invaluable.

I am a teacher (Art and Technology Education) with a background in communications, some experience with editing (AVID, Premier), film/digital photography and generally just an avid tinkerer. Recently I have been a bit stir crazy and looking for ways to get back into my hobbies now that career stuff has kind of peaked and stabilized for me. I have always loved photo and video editing and want to start making some actual content. Not commercially but just for the fun of it. I live in the Blue Ridge Moutains and after growing up in Ohio so its quite the inspiring place to take a walk.

I have been agonizing decisions ever since I got a bit of a bonus for work (unexpected bonus approved for some extra duties I perform) I started looking at the Parrot Anafi and slowly discovered the Mavic Pro and Mavic Air since they are all in about the same price range. I would just go with the mavic air because of the newer tech and added sensors but the obsessive side of me wants the Ocusync for the piece of mind (and in my head a stronger connection trumps a rear oa sensor) I would totally go with the Mavic 2 even if it means sacrificing some extra batteries and stuff like that but I just can't find it in me to spend the extra 500ish to pull that off.

Ah well. I am sure I will be stoked with whatever I end up getting once the sticker shock wears off, get some hours under my belt, and have some piece of mind knowing I paid for DJI care.