DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Batteries LOL - bloated carp

A few minutes later, prick, prick, prick, prick. packs deflated instantly, I snapped the pkg back together.

Gonna fly around in a few minutes (controller is chgarging).

I'll bet this is the millionth post on the subject. Sorry about that.

1684369094034.png

1684369124789.png

Definitely not charging any DJI batteries indoors any longer. Chinese crap for sure. Love the drone, but they clearly don't have acceptable lithium batteries. Not close. My world is full of products that contain lithium batteries. No experiences like this. You have to really go out of your way to have this poor quality (as an electrical engineer, I have no idea what chemistry failure causes this type of battery performance).

Any information on charge cycles and build date on this deformed power source?

Any information on charge cycles and build date on this deformed power source?
Not yet. I'll see if I can get that info and post it.

FYI, after getting the plastic closed up tight, did a test flight with that battery, no problem. I need to glue it back together before I trust it fully.

I wonder why lithium polymer batteries, like the four inside this pack, aren't vented? Would have saved about 1 million drones that fell out of the sky since the mavic 2 was released.

Personally, I wouldn't fly with such a battery any more, especially after piercing the cells. The next time the polymers expand (for the same reasons they expanded before), it will squirt out of the bag and into the plastic. It's not the lack of venting that causes them to do this, but the reason for the expansion in the first place (DJI is not using top-shelf cells).

And you're trusting your drone up in the sky using these. A couple of new batteries would be a much lower expense than a new aircraft.