DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Battery heating

Joebie

Reactions
How long do you guys microwave your batteries in the cold weather? I was thinking about starting out at 10-15 seconds. For reference, this is an 1100watt ‘wave.

e48bd44aa0fc80722ecc6fb530d87b77.jpg

I’ll report back on my findings with this, but, what other methods do you guys use?

How long do you guys microwave your batteries in the cold weather? I was thinking about starting out at 10-15 seconds. For reference, this is an 1100watt ‘wave.

I’ll report back on my findings with this, but, what other methods do you guys use?
I am not an electrical engineer however this does not sound like a good idea, or is this a joke post?

Well, the microwave is definitely a joke lol, but the question isn't. Just looking for other people's ideas for keeping batteries warm.

Reactions: Joebie
If you have a spare pair of those 'heat-holder' type thermal socks, they do OK, 1 sock per battery...

Very good, lol:D

I find steaming my batteries preserves the nutrients better.

If that's not convenient I use my jacket pocket and a powerbank/handwarmer.

Reactions: Smalls and Joebie
I’ve flown for hours in below freezing temps with original Mavic Pro. My biggest challenge is always keeping my fingers warm.

I keep batteries on the defrosters in my vehicle, or keep them in a pocket near my skin, preferably under a jacket until ready to fly.

If you start with a warm battery, you likely won’t get any low temperature warnings during flight. Even when it’s below zero degrees f, The battery seems to generate enough heat during discharge to maintain internal temperature above the threshold for the low temp warning.

I do try and land with 50% battery remaining in frigid temperatures, which is typically not an issue because this is also about the threshold to keep my fingers from being frost bitten.

Reactions: UVStudio and Joebie