DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Confused about FRZ

Chris Rees

Reactions
I have been flying for around 8 months now and was always under the impression that flying in a FRZ is totally forbidden. I have since been informed that I CAN if I fill in the appropriate CAA NATS form? Surely FRZ’s form part of the approach paths for airport runways so how can this be true? Hoping someone knowledgeable can help me. Thanks

the approach path will have different height restrictions depending on the distance to and from the runway so if you where given permission to fly then there would be various restriction's depending on the location of where you wanted to fly, the airspace around an airport is controlled airspace and as you say you would need to seek permission to fly in it ,of course that does not mean that your request will get the green light, and you would have to fulfill the criteria to get that permission

Reactions: Chris4koi
Thank you, so can you also clarify the difference between Class D airspace and Controlled Airspace (if any as I can’t find anything that’s clear by Googling it). I fly a Mini 2 therefore I know I don’t require permission to fly in Class D airspace but ATC at Bournemouth Airport tell me I do need permission to fly in Controlled Airspace. It’s so confusing?

Reactions: Chris4koi
Class D, C, B and A are all types of controlled airspace. You need permission to fly a drone in any of them. A goes up from 18,000 feet so you don't need to worry about it.

Class D, C, B and A are all types of controlled airspace. You need permission to fly a drone in any of them. A goes up from 18,000 feet so you don't need to worry about it.
So this is exactly my point, please read the NATS FAQ's on flying sub 20kg drones in Class D airspace. They are saying you don't need permission...