DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Do I need to replace stock lens ring when not using ND filter?

MiStro

Reactions
I'm pretty sure the title of my thread captures my question... If I take off my ND filter to fly at night/darker sky, is there any reason I need to put the original ring back on (considering there is no filter/plastic/glass on it? I can't think of what purpose it would serve, but I'm also new to the air...

Thanks in advance!

Reactions: Rols
I'm pretty sure the title of my thread captures my question... If I take off my ND filter to fly at night/darker sky, is there any reason I need to put the original ring back on (considering there is no filter/plastic/glass on it? I can't think of what purpose it would serve, but I'm also new to the air...

Thanks in advance!
I have flown without it on but realized that the o-ring on the outer edge is exposed to dirt and moisture. It's better to just take the extra minute to place it back on to keep it clean. Just my opinion.

I have flown without it on but realized that the o-ring on the outer edge is exposed to dirt and moisture. It's better to just take the extra minute to place it back on to keep it clean. Just my opinion.

Thanks! I'll replace it for that reason.

Does the stock ring just unscrew lefty loosey? Mine seems like it's super glued on it so **** tight

Yes it does, took some effort to remove it while trying not to break anything. Some people have had success using rubber bands, i just did it by hand.

Does the stock ring just unscrew lefty loosey? Mine seems like it's super glued on it so **** tight
The gimbal is actually quite robust, but hold it securely with one hand, and use three fingers of the other to firmly grip that OEM ring.

Some have used rubber bands or gloves to improve the grip. It will come off, it just seems to require an insane amount of controlled force.