DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Does Mini 2 work with Mavic Mini 1 controller?

beli

Reactions
Can I fly the Mini 2 with my Mavic Mini controller? My mavic mini tried swimming in a lake so I’m droneless but still have the controller. Is it cross compatible?

If it is I might just try upgrading drones and just keep using same mavic mini controller.

Mini 1 uses a Enhanced Wifi Protocol, The Mini 2 uses Ocusync...So not a chance of them coming even vaguely close to working. Best to sell the remote and move on up to the Mini 2, and let's try keeping the Mini 2 away from bodies of water this time...shall we :p

Reactions: GadgetGuy and beli
But it's sooooo tempting.?
To each their own.. I have been flying DJI for 6+ years and never felt the need or urge to take the risk...and that was long before Care Refresh. :p

Use a retrieval float and buy Refresh this time. Double insurance, cheap. As always, mark your drone w ph # in case of loss. Works

Reactions: beli
To each their own.. I have been flying DJI for 6+ years and never felt the need or urge to take the risk...and that was long before Care Refresh. :p
My friend has a cabin on the lake, I want to make a shot of coming in from the lake. I understand as long as I maintain a significant altitude(30 feet or so) should be ok. But I haven't done it yet. Maybe I'll get a wetsuit for it before I try. Though I do have CR and replacement coverage, rather not need them. Would break my heart to watch the Mini 2 descend beneath the surface of the water.?

You never fly over water?
It's far safer than over land.
No obstacles to run into and a completely uninterrupted signal and sight.
Only thing that would ever really worry me is crossing into a GEO zone over water that might cause a hover that could lead to an autoland, if the app crashed, and you couldn't reauthorize your permission to fly there in time.

You never fly over water?
It's far safer than over land.