DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Fear of flight

languphil

Reactions
Dear pilots,
I am writing to you to tell you my horrible story. I am new to drones.I got a Mavic from my father for my birthday. I tried to fly in my room and it crashed into the wall and broke the propellers. I changed them,and the next time I tested it in the garden and again it crashed into a tree. Again I changed the propellers,but this time I am afraid of flying it again. I am really afraid of crashing into things or people. Could you please take time and advise me what to do and how to remove this **** fear of flying my Mavic? I really appreciate your help.
Sincerely yours,
Mahmoud

Mahmoud,

Get out to a wide open space. Put your MP into "beginner" mode. This reduces the effects of controls and limits your flying height and distance. Take it slow. If you get panicked, just release the controls and the MP will hover.

I don't recommend flying indoors at all.

Hope this helps you some.

Mike

Mahmoud,

Get out to a wide open space. Put your MP into "beginner" mode. This reduces the effects of controls and limits your flying height and distance. Take it slow. If you get panicked, just release the controls and the MP will hover.

I don't recommend flying indoors at all.

Hope this helps you some.

Mike
Mike,
Thanks a lot for your prompt reply. I will do that as soon as possible.I really appreciate your kindness.
Mahmoud

Reactions: MChittum
You can also try the simulation mode where it actually doesn't take off and u can get a feel for the controls.
Go outdoors away from property, people and trees.
Limit your altitude and make sure the return to home height is set correctly and the home point is recorded correctly by verifying it on Google maps.
Best thing is to read the online manual and watch plenty of you tube beginner videos.