DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

First Significant Flights Today… Wow

Piper J3

Reactions
I’ve been flying RC since 1975. I’m a retired Mechanical Engineer. My first RC system was a Heath Kit, if that tells you anything. So, I’ve been doing this for a long time.

Fast forward to last week. I pre-spent my next COVID stimulus check and bought a MA2. So, instead of stimulating US economy it went to China. Oh well, I need to be happy.

I flew the MA2 around the house and used all three batteries. Easy to operate and totally cool. Such things they have now. Today I flew in a large open field that has a water tower at the far end. I flew 1500’ to the water tower and took a bunch of super high-quality still photos. I then hit RTH and machine came back at 20 mph and landed smack in the middle of my helipad. Flew all three batteries with the new Fly app that shows enhanced battery monitoring. Works a charm.

Welcome to our forum, from Hauptmann in the friendly skies of Texas!

Th
e MA2 is a terrific machine with a great camera. Lots of cool stuff to shoot in Ohio! Be glad you got the Fly More kit--you'll appreciate those extra batts.

Read the manual (link below), and be conservative at first. Practice using "Find My Drone" (DJI doesn't make it easy). Don't wait until you lose your MA2 before you try to learn under stress in less than ideal conditions.

We have over 100,000 members world wide to help you advance as a pilot and photographer. Ask for help when you need it. Share your work when you can.

Thanks for joining!
https://dl.djicdn.com/downloads/Mavic Air/20180213/Mavic+Air+User+Manual_v1.2.pdf

Reactions: TreeHugger
automated is never safer. you never really have control over flying over or around the obstacles, you also never really know for sure if you set the correct RTH height vs obstacles.