DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

flickering video

MichalEf

Reactions
Hi guys,

I'm quite new to video editing and I was wondering what I am doing wrong. After exporting a video of a yellow rapesead field I get a lot of flickering.

Anyone can point out where do I make mistake?

thanks

Michael

I have very little expereience as well, so just guessing a mismatch between shuttle speed and frame rate?

How did the raw footage look? Does the original material look decent and it's only after post production, compression/upload where the problem starts? Also, maybe you're flying too fast for the subject material, especially the straight down view near the end. You might try a fast shutter speed than normal. Which drone was used and what were the camera settings?

If this is in the footage already before editing, it might be caused by two (three) things:
1) What were the wind conditions? If there s wind, the rop might have been "waving" which caused the video to look like flickering. There were two or three instance in the video I thought to see this (first time at about 27 seconds)
2) You have very many very little yellow points. It might not be the footage it self, but played at the normal speed, it might simply be that our brain is not able to register the fast moving points and let it look as if it is flickering
3) There might be a problem with the footage from the beginning. This should be tested by making other videos.
If this is a post-editing thing, you should have a closer look at the settings you edit with and the setting syou export the video in. I use FCP and as I export the video, I can change settings (lowe resolution i.e.) to get a smaller file in the end. That then inflences the quality of the video.