DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Flying in forests - loss of connection at distances over 500m

ChangeableHawkEagle

Reactions
Hi all,
I am new to flying drones and have the Mavic Pro 2. I am using the drone to do forest canopy surveys but have encountered a problem in that I cannot fly further than 500m away without losing signal. I have looked into using waypoints but the limit in the DJI Go app is also 500m. I need to fly about 1-2km to properly map the sites, so this limited range is a problem. Is there a way round this? I have seen a few things about the Litchi app having more range when planning, how reliable is this app? Do you need a good network of GCPs before it can work properly?
Sorry for the noob question!
Cheers

Reactions: E90RAW
If you take off away from the trees and get your MP2 well above them it should stop the interference of your signal.

Thanks! It's quite a dense area so taking off away from the trees is hard, were mostly just relying on large gaps in the canopy. What is the distance range usually like if we were to take off further way from the trees?

Hi all,
I am new to flying drones and have the Mavic Pro 2. I am using the drone to do forest canopy surveys but have encountered a problem in that I cannot fly further than 500m away without losing signal. I have looked into using waypoints but the limit in the DJI Go app is also 500m. I need to fly about 1-2km to properly map the sites, so this limited range is a problem. Is there a way round this? I have seen a few things about the Litchi app having more range when planning, how reliable is this app? Do you need a good network of GCPs before it can work properly?
Sorry for the noob question!
Cheers