DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Flying in local parks...

duhs10

Reactions
Wondering if anyone has tried to challenge local code when there is no clear mention of drone usage.

I live down the street from a county park and had the thought that I could get some nice footage of the lake. Being a cautious new pilot I wanted to make sure that flying in the park was legal. I read through all the county codes, prohibited activities, and local laws. There is nothing that prohibits the use of sUAS or drones. However the Marshal's office states under their FAQ that "drones are not allowed in county parks for safety reasons."

There are 2 codes that could be at play. One describing unauthorized vehicles, however all the examples listed are off road vehicles, cars, motorcycles, etc. The other code makes a blanket statement saying all activities that threatens the safety of people.

Is it even worth my time to engage the Marshal's office to see if there is a reasonable solution that would allow me to fly in the parks? I'm guessing they probably will shrug it off unless there is a legal challenge to the code. Which I'm not going to take the time and money to do.

I'm also curious what the safety implications are since I'm already prohibited from flying over people.

Reactions: Mavic Pro Platinum
Wondering if anyone has tried to challenge local code when there is no clear mention of drone usage.

I live down the street from a county park and had the thought that I could get some nice footage of the lake. Being a cautious new pilot I wanted to make sure that flying in the park was legal. I read through all the county codes, prohibited activities, and local laws. There is nothing that prohibits the use of sUAS or drones. However the Marshal's office states under their FAQ that "drones are not allowed in county parks for safety reasons."