DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Flying in Madeira?

Jin03

Reactions
Hi everyone,

I visited a lot of websites and am still confused, hence asking for help here. Could someone please clarify what are the rules of flying in Madeira?

I am only a hobbyist and have my Mavic Air 2 registered here in UK. We're off to Madeira next week and haven't figured out what I need to do to be able to legally fly my drone there.

Do I really need to register at AAN website and ask for flying permission by email every time I want to fly there? What if I don't know the days, times and places where I want to fly, as we don't have any itinerary and not sure what the weather will be like? How long does it take to get the approval?

Or is it as simple as just taking the drone there, be aware of no fly zones and other general rules like flying up to 120m, always in sight etc.?

Thank you,

Jin

Reactions: Droniac
Welcome to the forum from the land of Oz. If you search Madeira in the forum there are a number of informative posts about flying there. Enjoy your trip
Regards

Welcome to the forum from the land of Oz. If you search Madeira in the forum there are a number of informative posts about flying there. Enjoy your trip
Regardsc
That's what I tried first before creating a new thread. Couldn't find anything related to my question from a year 2021, only one video taken in Madeira.

Maybe I'm not searching in a right way...? Would you please be so kind and send me a link to any of those posts with the info? Thank you!

Mate your right no recent (2021) articles. Check out uavcoach.com they have info about international flying.
Regards

Here's some links from Google, this one 2019 and quite easy going rules . . .

Not sure what the (new ?) EU drone rules may have done to the above, UAV Coach info . . .

This is supposedly 2021 info, seems pretty relaxed overall.