DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Flying in Pittsburgh

adaws96

Reactions
Hello! I am an engineering student at the University of Pittsburgh. I have been flying Dji drones for about two years now...I started with a used Phantom 3 Standard and upgraded to the Mavic Air this past may.

I was wondering if anyone has any experience flying in Pittsburgh! I know that it is illegal to fly drones in any Pittsburgh Parks. I curious to see if anyone else new of any rules/good places to legally fly!

I have taken off from the West End Overlook Park before, only because I was able to fly out of the park and over the Ohio in a matter of seconds. I assume flying over the rivers is fair game? (Obviously the no-fly zones around the stadiums are there, but I was curious to see if anyone has any comments about that?)

I have flown in Oakland before, but only vertically over my house, or over a friends house where I take off from. I have to keep my drones low due to the helicopter traffic coming in and out of Presby Hospital.

Thanks!

DJI_0022.jpg DJI_0096.jpg DJI_0030.jpg DJI_0235 2.jpg DJI_0009.JPG

Reactions: Chirp
Welcome to Mavic Pilots .
I hope you will find our site helpful and look forward to any input , photo's/video's you might post .
Don't be shy and ask anything if you can't find it by searching .Thumbswayup

Hello! I am an engineering student at the University of Pittsburgh. I have been flying Dji drones for about two years now...I started with a used Phantom 3 Standard and upgraded to the Mavic Air this past may.

I was wondering if anyone has any experience flying in Pittsburgh! I know that it is illegal to fly drones in any Pittsburgh Parks. I curious to see if anyone else new of any rules/good places to legally fly!