DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Formatting cards resets file names? And what about all the other little files? Important?

Ben_McPhee

Reactions
So I'm new to DJI drones, and I recently shot with my drone (Mavic Air 2) for 11 days straight and at the end of the day I dumped the entire card into "Day 1, Day 2 etc".

But now, inside each folder is "DCIM", "Lost.Dir" and "Misc", and inside those, even more subfolders.

Inside the day 2 folder for example:

- DCIM is 33gb of pics and video's inside yet another folder called 100Media, and a completely empty "Misc" folder.
- Lost.dir is 0kb and empty.
- MISC is 60mb, and has 3 folders and a file. - (GIS, which is 43.2mb with a .gis file in it), (IDX, which is empty), (THM, which has a subfolder called 100, and inside that are a series of .SCR and.THM files, which appear to be large and small thumbnails of all the files in the 100 Media folder), and a IDX_block file, which is apparently a Unix Executable file.

Ordinarily, I'd go straight to the DCIM folder, grab the files, and that's what I'd use. But what is all this other stuff? Is any of it important? When and how is it used?

Also, it appears that every time I formatted the card, the file names reset, so just dropping everything into a megafolder and splitting it out into Stills and video is impossible. (I'd edit the RAW stills in Capture One, and the Edit/Grade video most likely in DaVinci Resolve).

Also, I think I forgot to format at least once, so there are definitely duplicate files in some folders.

Is there a way to have file names be continuous? How would you organise this?

Last edited: