DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

has anyones mav survived water damage???

genesimmons

Reactions
ok scary incedent today, totally my fault no app or settings simply me,,,, i modded my bird for the altitude resctrictions and while i was doing that i changed the asssend decend paramters so she climbs much faster, anyhoo long story short i was shooting the lake today and i flew below my take off point by about 150ft, i didnt have the camera facing down and i got caught up in the moment of the lake and she got to close and i seen water in my camera, i panicked and pushed full speed up, every thing seemed ok then about 2 min later i got a gimbal over load error, and the camera wasnt responding so i brought her home right away, about 400ft from home flying by los only as camera wasnt responding the decend didnt seem to respnd, i panicked again and pushed rth and she started decending, she seemed to respond to sideways and front to back, anyways i got her landed safe and to my shock or not a shock the underbelly was wet and even the battery was wet, i imiteatly took battery out and drove home, i removed the front body and slowly began applying some air from my hair dryer, shes apart and upside down right now, any one survived water issues, is my poor mav a parts machine with only about 5 hours on her, i cant believe i came down so fast, my fault no one elses just wondering if any ones mav has survived water before, and how long before i try a battery in her to see if she comes to llife

Reactions: mangospoops
Survival from a fresh water dip is around 50/50. If the battery didnt get wet, maybe a little bit better.

Survival from a fresh water total immersion is around 25%.

Reactions: beanbubba