DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

having a really hard time deciding between Zoom or Pro 2

captaintrips

Reactions
Hi all,

Recently got permission from the wife to proceed with purchasing a mavic as we do a lot of travel and really would like to put it to use for such.

I've been a button-press away from buying the Zoom or the Pro 2 over the past few days after watching numerous videos and reading all sorts of reviews and details about each. Just as I'm about to buy the Zoom, i say "well... maybe i want the pro 2 instead" and vice versa where I say "well, maybe the zoom instead"

Thing is, I'm not a professional photographer and I really don't know/care to do a lot of pro-editing with adobe suites or messing with all the enhanced cam features and stuff on the Pro 2. But i wonder if I'll ever take interest to the point where I will regret not having those Pro 2 camera features
Every video or image comparison i saw... the Pro 2 shots seemed too warm and noticeably less sharp than the Zoom. It wasn't just me... even the reviewers seemed to say the same. The Pro 2 did seem a bit better in low light areas, and had a more 'cinematic' feel, though not sure how i feel about that compared to the more crisp "realworld" looking shots from the Zoom. In the side-by-sides, I like the cleaner, sharper, cooler images and video of the Zoom (i know the camera is apparently a lesser compared to the Pro 2 with the exception it has zoom lens vs. digital zoom only).

I'm 55% for the Zoom and 45% for the Pro 2.... but i feel if i go with the Zoom, for whatever reason, I may be missing out on something down the road (or maybe not at all)

Any suggestion or advice would certainly be appreciated!

I'm not here to help decide, but rather to comment on a statement or two. Short version: skip to the last sentence.