DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Hey

Mike_B

Reactions
Hey, all and thank you for allowing me on here!
I'm a 66 y/o operator in north-central AZ (44809 flyer, don't have my 107 yet, but working on it).
We currently have a wildfire burning south of us and I can't fly because the present NOTAM/TFR extends to well north of me into the city right now (it includes my home area). I was able to do a short photo flight the other day because, at that time, the northern edge of the TFR was about a mile south of me at that point and the tankers hadn't flown all day, so I went up to about 350' agl and got a couple pics of the smoke, then came back down; within about a half hour after I landed, though, they were routing the tankers almost directly over my place to and from the fire area, so I couldn't fly again. Granted, they were most likely at/above 500' agl, but I didn't feel comfortable going back up again because of that.
Pics show what they're flying (one type) and also the pics I was able to get before they started flying again. One was taken with my phone from our local ham radio club station, located near the airport (LAANC authorization for only 50' agl there, because it's almost in a direct line with the approach/departure paths of the runways).

Attachments

• 279224527_10160432856779203_7707404839499384526_n1.jpg
    279224527_10160432856779203_7707404839499384526_n1.jpg
    69 KB · Views: 8
  • DJI_0003.JPG
    DJI_0003.JPG
    2.2 MB · Views: 8
  • IMG_7086[1].JPG
    IMG_7086[1].JPG
    106.6 KB · Views: 8
  • Untitled1.jpg
    Untitled1.jpg
    270.7 KB · Views: 2
Welcome to Mavic Pilots .
I hope you will find our site helpful and look forward to any input , photo's/video's you might post .
Don't be shy and ask anything if you can't find it by searching
and stay safe.. Thumbswayup