DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Air 2 How to take better nighttime pics

MassCoyote

Reactions
Using a MA2 in auto mode, I took the image below. As I’m new to photography, any ideas how I can eliminate some of the brightness of store signs when taking pictures without using editing software?

A9064F9A-1D85-4D1B-AFBC-F99E04064A93.jpeg

Reactions: Rchawks
Shooting night time images in auto isn't the best solution if you want to have control of the exposure & how much noise you get in the image. Also it's recommended to go for raw with some gentle editing afterwards, this as raw actually give you the possibility to adjust the exposure some in the edit.

With auto setting the camera will try to average the exposure measurement from the motif ... meaning bringing up the darker parts & in that process severely overexpose the brighter parts.
I suggest that you go for manual settings instead ...

As a guideline the shutter should be kept below 2sec, otherwise it will be hard to avoid motion blur coming from a slightly moving drone (up to 2sec will anyway require several shots until you get one sharp).

Start with a iso setting as low as possible, this to avoid noise & step wise make the shutter speed longer until the exposure looks like you want it ... if the shutter goes longer than 2sec go up one step in iso & adjust the shutter again until the exposure looks good on the screen. Repeat this until you come in with a shutter speed quicker than 2sec.

If this in the end require a iso value around 400 the image should be relative noise free ... higher, up to 800 then a gentle noise wash usually is necessary in edit.