DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

How windy is too much?

Redd

Reactions
As a new pilot I am unsure how safe or stable my Mavic is in windy conditions.
It's winter here at the moment and reasonably windy. Everytime I fly i get get a high wind warning. Do I really need to pack up and go home, or am I reasonably safe?

The Mavic is very stable in high wind. The problem is that the wind is sometimes so strong that the Mavic is not able to make it back to the home point when flying into the wind. It'll either not be able to fly quickly enough to make it back before the battery reaches the critically low level (causing the Mavic to auto land at its current location) or make negative progress as its flying back.

That red box warning is set pretty low and can be safely ignored though don't expect perfect stability and give anything you might hit a wider berth.
At more serious wind speed you'll see a scrolling amber warning at the top of app screen.
If Obstacle Avoidance is turned on your top speed is much reduced and this also affects the ability to resist winds.

If the Mavic has to tilt excessively just to hold in place you might even see compass warnings.

As you gain experience you will better be able to judge how wind affects the performance. As stated, be very careful flying too far out.

The guy in this video is nuts to do this so close to the garage door, but it shows how the Mavic responds to strong wind gusts.

I was in San Francisco a couple of weeks ago and visited the Fisherman's Wharf. It was windy, easily 15 to 20 mph constant gusts (which is probably why there were no helicopters flying tours that afternoon--but I didn't think of that at-the-time). My serious lack of experience let me think that it would cool to get some video flying near Alcatraz. So I launched from a small park west of the wharf.