DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Howdy from Utah

dajain

Reactions
Hello Y'all. My name is Dave and I have been tinkering with cheaper drones for a few years now and decided to buy a DJI Mavic Mini after getting tired of poor videos and pictures.

I'm just a hobbyist and have no plans on doing anything commercially with a drone so I think the Mini will be right up my ally.

If anyone wants to check out drone footage of my backyard, go to Youtube and look up "Lake Powell Drone Footage" and you will see first hand why I would like to get better videos. I live in the middle of some pretty amazing (getting to be world known also) countryside.

Look forward to any tips or tricks for the Mini, but I'll go to that forum for that. For now, Howdy! :D

Welcome to the forum.
I hope you will find our site helpful and look forward to any input , photo's/video's you might post . Thumbswayup

Welcome to Mavic Pilots! :) Enjoy the forum!Thumbswayup

Please keep in mind that Lake Powell is located in Glen Canyon National Recreation Area, which is administered by the National Park Service. They may consider it to part of the National Park System.

I live 66 miles from it. They have a sign at the gate specifically saying drone flying is prohibited.
That's funny.
Look on Youtube and search "Lake Powell Drone" and you'll see that law isn't followed very well. There are dozens of great footage of the lake on the site.
Plus, with a lake the size of Powell and only a handful of NPS boats and rangers, it would have to be wrong place at the wrong time to get caught.

Reactions: old man mavic
I live 66 miles from it. They have a sign at the gate specifically saying drone flying is prohibited.
That's funny.
Look on Youtube and search "Lake Powell Drone" and you'll see that law isn't followed very well. There are dozens of great footage of the lake on the site.