Welcome Mavic Pilot!
Jump in and join our free DJI Mavic community today!
Sign up

Hyperlapse Waypoint Issues

acdraindrps

Active Member
Joined
Aug 22, 2019
Messages
34
Reaction score
3
Location
WNY
So I did some flying today with the intention of getting some good hyperlapse footage. I created and saved a waypoint hyperlapse mission in my DJI go 4 app, returned to home to swap the battery, and re-loaded the previously saved waypoint mission. The first attempt went very wrong for some reason, and I was hoping some resident experts here could take a look at the flight log and come up with a route cause analysis. The first video is of the hyperlapse-gone-wrong, the second video (and my second attempt) is what the mission should look like (minus the last small leg of the mission due to low battery) in regards to waypoints/flight path. Anyhow, looking at each video you can clearly see the first attempt hadn't flown the mission according to the waypoint plan, not even close.

Thanks again, guys.


First attempt:

Second attempt:
 

Attachments

acdraindrps

Active Member
Joined
Aug 22, 2019
Messages
34
Reaction score
3
Location
WNY
Shameful begging for the attention of a few resident log analyzing experts in 3... 2... 1...

@sar104 @msinger @BudWalker

Any help you that guys and anyone else can offer will be greatly appreciated. Thanks again.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Doppler

acdraindrps

Active Member
Joined
Aug 22, 2019
Messages
34
Reaction score
3
Location
WNY
Anyone care to help me out and offer their expertise?

In any event, I've been looking over the logs on airdata and think maybe the compass needed calibration? Being so new to all of this, that is of course a shot in the dark.
 

ff22

Well-Known Member
Joined
Nov 3, 2018
Messages
1,590
Reaction score
876
Location
pacific northWET
Anyone care to help me out and offer their expertise?

In any event, I've been looking over the logs on airdata and think maybe the compass needed calibration? Being so new to all of this, that is of course a shot in the dark.
Usually, the aircraft/software will tell you the compass needs calibration. Did it have its full complement of satellites for the gps?
 

acdraindrps

Active Member
Joined
Aug 22, 2019
Messages
34
Reaction score
3
Location
WNY
See that's the weird part - it did ask me to recalibrate several times, it seems like if I powered the M2P in this one specific spot DJI Go listed compass calibration error. So I would then calibrate it and move a couple hundred yards away from the area that kept resulting in compass errors.
 

GadgetGuy

Well-Known Member
Joined
Oct 17, 2016
Messages
1,113
Reaction score
451
See that's the weird part - it did ask me to recalibrate several times, it seems like if I powered the M2P in this one specific spot DJI Go listed compass calibration error. So I would then calibrate it and move a couple hundred yards away from the area that kept resulting in compass errors.
If you calibrated it in the area with a compass error, it will show compass errors everywhere else. First move away from the area that is giving you a compass error, and see if the error goes away before recalibrating. If it does, don't recalibrate, and don't launch again from the suspect location.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Thomas B

acdraindrps

Active Member
Joined
Aug 22, 2019
Messages
34
Reaction score
3
Location
WNY
So do you guys think the compass on the fritz could have caused the erratic, not even close waypoint locations? Now that I'm thinking about it, my gimbal was actually wayyy off out of nowhere during that flight as well. The only reason I noticed it was because I had my forward stick at 100% but the camera wasn't facing the same direction at the drone's heading direction. Could these issues possibly be related to the same route cause, or is it likely I had two separate, pretty significant issues with that particular flight?
 

GadgetGuy

Well-Known Member
Joined
Oct 17, 2016
Messages
1,113
Reaction score
451
So do you guys think the compass on the fritz could have caused the erratic, not even close waypoint locations? Now that I'm thinking about it, my gimbal was actually wayyy off out of nowhere during that flight as well. The only reason I noticed it was because I had my forward stick at 100% but the camera wasn't facing the same direction at the drone's heading direction. Could these issues possibly be related to the same route cause, or is it likely I had two separate, pretty significant issues with that particular flight?
Until you have removed the Compass error by flying from an area without compass interference, there is no way to tell. Fix one problem at a time. Then fly another waypoint mission to test the waypoint functionality.
 

acdraindrps

Active Member
Joined
Aug 22, 2019
Messages
34
Reaction score
3
Location
WNY
I've been flying everyday since, and only experienced the odd issues I had that day alone. I have however refrained from taking off anywhere near the same area I flew from that day.

I think it's probably worth it to mention that I have done calibration sequences for the compass, imu and gimbal immediately following the flights where I experienced abnormal behavior.

Thanks again, everyone, for all of your help and expertise.
 

GadgetGuy

Well-Known Member
Joined
Oct 17, 2016
Messages
1,113
Reaction score
451
I've been flying everyday since, and only experienced the odd issues I had that day alone. I have however refrained from taking off anywhere near the same area I flew from that day.

I think it's probably worth it to mention that I have done calibration sequences for the compass, imu and gimbal immediately following the flights where I experienced abnormal behavior.

Thanks again, everyone, for all of your help and expertise.
Happy it was just a one day glitch, most likely related to that launching location. I have found a few of those myself, and just learned to launch elsewhere, as you have. I beat a possum over the head tonight that was stealing bananas. Hope he doesn't come back either! ;)
 

acdraindrps

Active Member
Joined
Aug 22, 2019
Messages
34
Reaction score
3
Location
WNY
Happy it was just a one day glitch, most likely related to that launching location. I have found a few of those myself, and just learned to launch elsewhere, as you have. I beat a possum over the head tonight that was stealing bananas. Hope he doesn't come back either! ;)
I'm not sure I'm picking up what you're putting down, lol. But yes, thank you again for your help!
 

GadgetGuy

Well-Known Member
Joined
Oct 17, 2016
Messages
1,113
Reaction score
451
I'm not sure I'm picking up what you're putting down, lol. But yes, thank you again for your help!
Once bitten, twice shy! We should react like any animal! If you find a launch site that is causing you problems, find another launch site. Me beating on the possum was you being beaten up by your bad launch site. Don't go back there! ;)
 
  • Like
Reactions: acdraindrps

Thomas B

Moderator
Staff Member
Premium Pilot
Joined
Jan 25, 2019
Messages
5,402
Reaction score
3,632
Location
Gilbert, Arizona
Above seems to largely cover the drone.

My suggestion is that when you use hyperlapse to pan slower, especially with tall buildings projected up into the sky. The images of the buildings become distorted, “bent” of you will and the walls of these buildings show “stair stepping” also. A slower pan will fix this.
 
  • Like
Reactions: GadgetGuy