DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

I know, I know....DJI Care Refresh

Splats

Reactions
I'm sure it's been covered many times before, but I'm interested to know if people feel DJI Refresh is worth it if you are a relatively competent pilot.

I'm new to the drone game but I used to fly a Blade 400 heli with reasonable competency. When I got my Spark I was simply amazed at how easy it is to fly; in fact, you don't really fly it since it simply sits and waits for your commend. If you let go of the sticks on the Blade for more than a second you'd almost certainly get into trouble fast. I've seen times where I've laid the control down and left the Spark hovering while I faff and do something else.

The stories of crashed and lost drones certainly gave me cause for concern but the more I dig the more I'm certain that pilot error, panic or downright incompetency is the cause in most situations. The freak out over ATTI mode has me perplexed. My Spark decided to have a compass error 800m away and well beyond visual line of site. It flipped into ATTI and due to the toilet bowl effect was somewhat erratic and wouldn't fly straight. Nevertheless, I found it quite easy to limp it FPV back to me where GPS took over and normal service resumed.

My only fear is that with my limited experience I've not yet come across a situation where exceptional skill is required to prevent a crash. Does that scenario even exist?

I guess I'm just struggling to see how you'd crash a drone unless you are pushing the limits or taking risks. My biggest fear by far is fly away or the drone dropping into a lake or sea (where it would almost certainly be lost) and neither of these scenarios (lost drone) are covered by Care Refresh.