DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

I lost My mavic Air It was partially my fault.

DeanVaknin305

Reactions
Sorry for making this so long. I’m a new pilot actually just made an account and I would really love some opinions from more experienced pilots because I’ve only been doing this drone stuff for about a month and most of it has been watching YouTube videos.

Hello everyone reading this, let me begin with saying I lost my drone. Well, I know exactly where it is but it’s unreachable. It’s exactly here actually: 36.393353 ,25.437452 . It’s Santorini Greece on the side of the mountain. Let me explain how it got there.

If you couldn’t tell by it’s location, I’m very new to this. I’ll share a link to the google drive with my flight records so you can see. I got the mavic air, on June 12, 2019 if I remember correctly. You can see in the flight records that my brother and I have only flown it a couple times each before I went to Greece and most of the flights were pretty basic and close quarters flights. After a few weeks in Israel I went to Greece and took the Mavic Air with me. I went to a location that seemed appropriate to capture a nice video of the sunset. I started with the normal stuff everything was okay. I did a manual take off for some reason I find it more fun to manually take off. It really was on the side of a mountain which is above the height limit allowed to fly in Greece. Without thinking I proceeded to fly my drone in the air just a couple feet from me because I was honestly petrified I was so scared of losing the drone and boom that’s what happened. After a couple seconds of it in the air I felt comfortable enough to begin moving forward down the mountain.