DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

I think I might need to sell my Classic

cammyjams

Reactions
I simply LOVE my Classic (his name is Gus) but as a photographer, I'm finding that I want the reach of the optical zoom on The Pro.
Sorry if this has already been discussed here, but what can I reasonably expect to get for the Classic, drone only? He's got about 150 hours on him. Thanks.

I simply LOVE my Classic (his name is Gus) but as a photographer, I'm finding that I want the reach of the optical zoom on The Pro.
Sorry if this has already been discussed here, but what can I reasonably expect to get for the Classic, drone only? He's got about 150 hours on him. Thanks.
If reach is what you need, pick up a gently used Mavic 3 which also has the 7x telephoto you want.

Why anyone would buy a classic is beyond me. One fixed lens with no option to use another lens for close ups? Not my cup of tea. I love surveilling things from a distance. People don't get as mad. Police don't mind it so much when I'm far away from the action.

It doesn't have optical zoom.
It's not semantics.
It's people who don't understand what zoom has meant to photographers for the last 50 years.
  1. Semantics: the branch of linguistics and logic concerned with meaning. There are a number of branches and subbranches of semantics, including formal semantics, which studies the logical aspects of meaning, such as sense, reference, implication, and logical form, lexical semantics, which studies word meanings and word relations, and conceptual semantics, which studies the cognitive structure of meaning.
    • the meaning of a word, phrase, sentence, or text.
      plural noun: semantics
      "such quibbling over semantics may seem petty stuff"

1698310277861.gif

Reactions: landmark orbiter
It doesn't have optical zoom.
It's not semantics.
It's people who don't understand what zoom has meant to photographers for the last 50 years.