DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Identify your drone or not?

jayeldee

Reactions
Hi, I am new to drone world. I have a Mini 4 Pro, a very cool device!
Should I label the drone with my name ± phone number and address? I have seen many youtube videos of people losing and often unsuccessfully searching for them.

It seems like a good idea, but what is your thought about doing so? Is there a downside to that?
Thanks

Reactions: Torque
Greetings from Birmingham Alabama USA, welcome to the forum! We look forward to hearing from you!

Read this article from the FAA
Read this article from one of our vendors, @pilotinstitute

Should I label the drone with my name ± phone number and address?
Is there a downside to that?
Downsides? I cannot think of any. That information is not secret and is likely easily discoverable on at least several public websites.

The upside would be the finder would be able to easily contact you. In most cases, people find lost drones and have no way of contacting the owner.

Reactions: GFields
Thanks for the response.
Both of those links go to the same place, FAA and registering drones.
As I understand it because the mini 4 pro is below a certain weight, registration with the FAA is not required.
But that is not my question. I am talking about putting a sticker on the drone with my name, phone and address in case someone finds it.
I read through the above and do not see that addressed, unless I missed it?

@msinger
Thanks. I guess I was wondering about the advisability because maybe I've seen one too many youtubes about antidrone people giving pilots a hard time, threatening to call the police, etc.
Your point is well taken though about getting it back. It would be nearly impossible without something identifying the drone's home.
So, with the above, do you have your name on your drone?

Thanks for the response.
Both of those links go to the same place, FAA and registering drones.