Welcome Mavic Pilot!
Jump in and join our free DJI Mavic community today!
Sign up

Lost M2Z, new pilot, unsure what went wrong

Once Year

Member
Joined
Nov 15, 2019
Messages
19
Reaction score
4
Age
43
Location
Atlanta
Flew about 20 flights. Read everything, still trying to digest it all, but I'm trying to be diligent. I flew out over a salt marsh in late evening. Received notification on Smart Controller that signal had been lost. Maps showed drone in one place. Hoped RTH would kick in, but no such luck.

What I would love to do is find the information about the flight. I see where many of you folks post data and logs from a flight, but don't know where to find that data. The manual has no information about this, or how to access it, unless you have the actual drone and plug it in using an App called DJI Assistant. Bu this app appears to require that you plug in the drone. I must be missing something.

I have a new M2Z, want to understand what I did wrong with the first one.
 

Meta4

Well-Known Member
Joined
Oct 30, 2016
Messages
4,581
Reaction score
5,180
Age
64
What I would love to do is find the information about the flight. I see where many of you folks post data and logs from a flight, but don't know where to find that data. The manual has no information about this, or how to access it, unless you have the actual drone and plug it in using an App called DJI Assistant. Bu this app appears to require that you plug in the drone. I must be missing something.
Go to DJI Flight Log Viewer | Phantom Help
Follow the instructions there to upload your flight record from your phone or tablet.
That will give you a detailed report of the flight.
Come back and post a link to the report it gives you.
 

Mavic Mac

Well-Known Member
Premium Pilot
Joined
Jun 19, 2018
Messages
361
Reaction score
344
  • Like
Reactions: Once Year

Mavic Mac

Well-Known Member
Premium Pilot
Joined
Jun 19, 2018
Messages
361
Reaction score
344
  • Like
Reactions: Once Year

DanMan32

Well-Known Member
Premium Pilot
Joined
Sep 1, 2018
Messages
5,542
Reaction score
2,001
Age
53
I suspect Logs on mobile won't show anything since everything appeared OK at the time of disconnect.

How old are the batteries? Do any of your remaining batteries show any sign of swelling?
 
  • Like
Reactions: Once Year

DanMan32

Well-Known Member
Premium Pilot
Joined
Sep 1, 2018
Messages
5,542
Reaction score
2,001
Age
53
Just realized you mentioned the M2Z is new.
You also mentioned it was late evening. Do you mean it was dark or was the sun still up but low in the sky?
 
  • Like
Reactions: Once Year

Once Year

Member
Joined
Nov 15, 2019
Messages
19
Reaction score
4
Age
43
Location
Atlanta
I suspect Logs on mobile won't show anything since everything appeared OK at the time of disconnect.

How old are the batteries? Do any of your remaining batteries show any sign of swelling?
All batteries new and everything in great condition
 

BigAl07

Administrator
Staff Member
Premium Pilot
Joined
Jun 1, 2017
Messages
2,934
Reaction score
4,277
Age
49
Location
Western NC, USA
Post your DATA as requested in posts #2 & #3 and you might get some answers. Maybe . . .
 

Dave Maine

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jan 27, 2018
Messages
328
Reaction score
198
Age
76
It can be confusing. You can loose the video feed without loosing flight control. In that case, RTH won’t be initiated until low battery.

The sticks will still be working, and you may have flown into something.
 

Lon Denard

Well-Known Member
Joined
Oct 11, 2017
Messages
1,802
Reaction score
868
Age
54
It can be confusing. You can loose the video feed without loosing flight control. In that case, RTH won’t be initiated until low battery.

The sticks will still be working, and you may have flown into something.
He might have it set to "Hover" for loss of signal. Then in low light the OA doesn't work and the drone crashed. I wonder if he tried "find my drone"?
 
  • Like
Reactions: Once Year

Once Year

Member
Joined
Nov 15, 2019
Messages
19
Reaction score
4
Age
43
Location
Atlanta
He might have it set to "Hover" for loss of signal. Then in low light the OA doesn't work and the drone crashed. I wonder if he tried "find my drone"?
I did, but the location was inaccessible without a boat and some other equipment. What is "OA?"
 

Fly Dawg

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jul 12, 2019
Messages
240
Reaction score
130
Location
Watkinsville, Ga
unless you have the actual drone and plug it in using an App called DJI Assistant. Bu this app appears to require that you plug in the drone. I must be missing something.
That is for the aircraft .dat. Unfortunately that file is encrypted and un-readable. However, the device .txt and .dat are.

OA is "Obstacle Avoidance" FYI.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Once Year

Once Year

Member
Joined
Nov 15, 2019
Messages
19
Reaction score
4
Age
43
Location
Atlanta
Post your DATA as requested in posts #2 & #3 and you might get some answers. Maybe . . .
Thanks. So the link from posts #2 and #3 does not appear to work with the DJI Smart Controller which is the device I was using at the time of loss. However, I think I have found the .txt file in a folder called DJIFlightRecord....txt so I am hoping I can upload that file.
 

Once Year

Member
Joined
Nov 15, 2019
Messages
19
Reaction score
4
Age
43
Location
Atlanta
Go to DJI Flight Log Viewer | Phantom Help
Follow the instructions there to upload your flight record from your phone or tablet.
That will give you a detailed report of the flight.
Come back and post a link to the report it gives you.
I think this is the file--I found it on an SD Card which I was using on the Smart Controller
 

Attachments

Fly Dawg

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jul 12, 2019
Messages
240
Reaction score
130
Location
Watkinsville, Ga

Fly Dawg

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jul 12, 2019
Messages
240
Reaction score
130
Location
Watkinsville, Ga
@Once Year I don't see anything obvious that would have caused the autoland. Battery was fine and everything looks ok.
I see no signal loss whatsoever in this flight. Downlink remained all the way to the ground. The aircraft was responding to all of your stick inputs for the duration, so that also says uplink was still good as well. My only question here is I don't understand why you didn't issue throttle up.

1575998471661.png
 
  • Like
Reactions: Once Year

Once Year

Member
Joined
Nov 15, 2019
Messages
19
Reaction score
4
Age
43
Location
Atlanta
@Once Year I don't see anything obvious that would have caused the autoland. Battery was fine and everything looks ok.
I see no signal loss whatsoever in this flight. Downlink remained all the way to the ground. The aircraft was responding to all of your stick inputs for the duration, so that also says uplink was still good as well. My only question here is I don't understand why you didn't issue throttle up.

View attachment 87807
Thanks--I can't answer your question about "throttle up." There was essentially no visible response on the Smart Controller, so I did not know what was happening. I was pressing RTH button, but there was no movement of the drone location on the map. It simply stayed in one place on the map.