DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

M2P ND filter Skyreat vs FStop Labs vs Polar Pro

Chopstix Kid

Reactions
As with many of us, I recently had the opportunity to get my hands on the @Skyreat and @fstop.labs ND filters for the M2P. I did not have direct access to the @PolarPro filters however having a set of the Cinema Series Vivid filter for my P4, it gave me the opportunity to do a loose comparison. I am a hobbyist. While I do semi-professional photography as part of my day job, my knowledge and skill level is intermediate at best. So please take that into consideration as you read this review.

Fit and finish: The Skyreat and FStop Labs are nearly identical. Both companies did indeed address the gimbal fit that was discovered with their Gen 1 filters. The DJI gimbal fits with no interference. The FStop Labs filters have serrated edges which does allow for some grip when installing/removing the filters--while they may appear to be minimal, I can attest that they do make for somewhat an easier effort. All the filters I sampled fit about the same. Some were slightly easier to "click" in place while others had slightly more resistance. The occurrence was across both brands. Then there is the obvious; color. The Skyreat are metallic red while the FStop Labs are a metallic grey. Both are very pleasing in appearance on the AC.

20181013_183007.jpg20181013_130856.jpg20181013_131043.jpg20181013_182328.jpg

Light reduction accuracy: Now that we know both brands fit like they should, do they reduce the proper amount of light? Day 1 of testing was a wash. Poor lighting due to weather gave false readings. Day 2 was sunny with sparse cover and went like this...

I took two baselines (ISO-200 and ISO-400) with no filter, moving the aperture 1 stop at time to verify shutter speed:

ISO-200
======
f/2.8 -- 1/1000
f/4 ----- 1/500
f/5.6 -- 1/240
f/8 ----- 1/120
f/11 --- 1/60

ISO-400
======
f/2.8 -- 1/2000
f/4 ----- 1/100