DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Magnetic interferance-flyaway

Ok i Got you, so should the pilot have checked his compass and imu readout before take off? I feel bad for the guy and even freaked me out that this can happen to me, I am just trying to gather data as I am a new pilot. Thanks for taking the time to help me understand further.

Actually the advice given by @BudWalker above is the best check for magnetic issues, although it won't hurt to look at the calibration numbers.

I recently experienced magnetic interference shortly after launch. My screen said 'compass calibration' was off and to 'see app to calibrate'. I noticed the flashing light on the mavic was not green (normal) but red. As I returned the drone to me, the light changed back to green. I landed it, shut it down and started all over again and got the same message as soon as I was out over the rocks and water. My guess is that the composition of the (marble and granite) rocks caused this?

I recently experienced magnetic interference shortly after launch. My screen said 'compass calibration' was off and to 'see app to calibrate'. I noticed the flashing light on the mavic was not green (normal) but red. As I returned the drone to me, the light changed back to green. I landed it, shut it down and started all over again and got the same message as soon as I was out over the rocks and water. My guess is that the composition of the (marble and granite) rocks caused this?
Unless you were within a couple of feet of the rocks, it's going to be something else.

Me and the remote or where the drone is? I had a friend loose a drone because he was standing on a taconite rock.
I've also heard that wifi hot spots can interfere. I was near (behind) some buildings that had that.

Me and the remote or where the drone is? I had a friend loose a drone because he was standing on a taconite rock.